Who we are

Who we are

The Austrian-Canadian Society was founded in 2003 as a bilateral friendship society reflecting the general mission and vision of the “Federation of Austrian Foreign Societies – PaN – Partner of all Nations”. It is open to individuals, regardless of nationality, or companies who are focused on improving bilateral relationships between Austria and Canada in a sustainable manner. In particular, collaborative activities in the fields of traditional diplomacy, business, science and culture as well as inter-personal relationships are fostered.

The Austrian-Canadian Society is an effective platform for a bilateral exchange between the two countries largely due to the fact that numerous members of the Society have lived, worked or studied in both Austria and Canada. The Society supports short and long-term Canadian expatriates, Austrian repatriates, and Canadianists in general while helping individuals or Austrian businesses establish contacts in Canada.

Honorary President

Her Excellency Ambassador Heidi Hulan, Canadian Ambassador to Austria

Executive Board

President: DDr. Heinz SEITINGER     president@austria-canada.com
Vice-President: Karen  CONOLEY     vicepresident@austria-canada.com
Secretary General: Patti VOGRIG     secretarygeneral@austria-canada.com
Deputy Secretary General: Ricarda AMBERG    deputysecretarygeneral@austria-canada.com
Treasurer: Karin OCHENBAUER    treasurer@austria-canada.com
Members: Andreas GUGUBAUER
Dr. Armin  KAMMEL, LL.M., MBA
Timothy LEMAY
Auditors: Renate PAMMER
Mag. Nicholas AQUILINA

Honorary Members

Ambassador Mark Bailey
Ambassador Dr. John Barrett
Ambassador Marie Gervais-Vidricaire
Counsellor Jennifer May
Counsellor Sheila Coutts
Ms. Anne Drover

Scientific Board

Chairman: Prof. (FH) Armin KAMMEL, LL.M, MBA (Lauder Business School Vienna)

Dr. Elisabeth DREER, MSc., (Johannes Kepler Universität Linz)

Prof. Dr. Waldemar ZACHARASIEWICZ, Director of the Centre for Canada Studies at the University of Vienna

Univ-Prof. Dr. Klaus Dieter ERTLER, (Karl-Franzens Universität Graz)

Univ-Prof. DI Dr. Rudolf KRSKA (Universität für Bodenkultur Wien)

Univ-Prof. Dr. Martin LÖSCHNIGG (Karl-Franzens Universität Graz)

Univ-Prof. Dr. Birgit MERTZ-BAUMGARTNER (Universität Innsbruck)

Prof. Dr. Dagmar REICHARDT (University of Groningen)

Prof. Dr. Andreas STREBINGER (York University Toronto)